Ivan Saric Chosen by ACP to Play at Poikovsky

Время публикации: 19.03.2014 22:59 | Последнее обновление: 19.03.2014 22:59

Croatian GM Ivan Saric was chosen by the Association of Chess Professions to participate at 15th Poikovsky tournament which will take place from May 11 to 20. The organisers of the competition had an agreement with ACP according to which the association hold the right to nominate one participant. As Emil Sutovsky posted on his Facebook page Ivan Saric's achievements were not left unnoticed: he won Wijk aan Zee B-Group competition, also became champion of Croatia and shared 2nd place at European championship.

The full list of participants at Poikovsky is not announced.  


Смотрите также...

  • As usually ten grandmasters will compete at Poikovsky competition scheduled to take place from May 11-20. Four grandmasters out of ten are Russian: Dmitry Jakovenko, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Alexander Morozevich and Alexander Motylev

    Other participants are Alexey Shirov, Viorel Bologan, Etienne Bacrot, Pawel Eljanov, Emil Sutovsky and Ivan Saric.

  • Earlier we announced the representative lineup for the 16th Anatoly Karpov tournament at Poikovsky, which runs from 27 September to 8 October this year. The newly-crowned Russian champion, Evgeny Tomashevsky, has decided not to play in Poikovsky, and instead of him, the Association of Chess Professionals has nominated Ernesto Inarkiev. 

  • Poikovsky: Sutovsky losses and listens to Rachmaninov

  • 16 grandmasters will play rapid chess

  • Croatian championship has finished in Porec. 12 grandmasters determined the champion in a round-robin. The rating favourite Ivan Saric finished first. 

    Тournament on Chess-Results

  • The 15th international tournament named after Anatoly Karpov starts tomorrow in Poikovsky. The opening ceremony will be held at 08:00 CET, Round 1 staarts at 10:00 CET.

  • The 16th edition of the traditional round-robin tournament will take place in Poikovsky from September 27th to October 8th. Among the ten GMs who have agreed to take part, four will be representing Russia - Alexander Morozevich, Dmitry Jakovenko, Evgeny Tomashevsky, Igor Lysyj. The others are Alexei Shirov, Alexander Onischuk, Viorel Bologan, Viktor Laznicka, Emil Sutovsky, and Ilya Smirin.

  • The traditional tournament named after Anatoly Karpov has started in Poikovsky. Below you can find extracts from the commentary Alexander Andreevski, the director of the event, gave Chess-News.

    "The solemn opening ceremony, which took place in sports complex Neptun, went vividly.

  • Ivan Saric and Alexander Morozevich strengthened lead after fourth round of the Poikovsky tournament. 

    Crioatian GM grabbed an advantage as white in a rare line of Caro-Kann in the encounter against Pavel Eljanov. Ukrainian tried to save the position but after the decisive breakthrough of the king on e5 square it was already impossible. This is third in a row win of the 23-year-old Saric - the youngest participant of the event.

  • The line-up for the main tournament has been announced