Another Debatable Situation at World Cup: Chief Arbiter's Decision Raise Questions

Время публикации: 15.08.2013 02:31 | Последнее обновление: 15.08.2013 23:57

Wang Hao - Dreev encounter turned out to be the longest in Round 2 of the World cup.

It was also one of the most thrilling clashes: Russian GM had problems as black, however, managed to grab initiative with considerable advantage in the endgame. Already in a time trouble Dreev missed several winning chances as his opponent wasn't defending in the best possible way. 

WANG HAO - DREEV

Alexey denied repetition several times and did it once again in a time trouble:
67...Bc7!! The move is absolutely brilliant as only it brings Black win and certainly it is not easy to find when experiencing time shortage.
68.Kg5 Not the best answer, pointing out the best reply for White is already impossible.
68...Bb6? According to Dreev he was thinking of 68...а5! which would almost put White into zugzwang, however, Russian didn't dare to make it. 
Here Wang Hao noted that the position repeated three times, not one by one but including the previous positions though. He called for the arbiter to inform him but he neither stopped the clock, nor wrote down the move he was planning to do. In other words Wang Hao claimed the draw incorrectly. 

The chief arbiter Ignatius Leong found the claim to be incorrect and added three minutes to Dreev's time in accordance to regulations. This is what happened next: the clock was again on, the game continued, Wang Hao wrote down the move he wanted to make and again claimed for draw and the arbiter registered it. Meanwhile, no move was played between the first and the second claim for the draw.  

Dreev, certainly being logical, started to protest against the arbiter's decision: on the one hand his opponent was admitted to be wrong and the game was continued, but on the other hand - the game still didn't continue. The arbiter, nevertheless, insisted on his decision and never changed it.

At the end Dreev shook hands with his opponent and agreed to signing the peace treaty without writing an appeal.

This is what the Laws of Chess says about the draw claim (article 9, paragraph 9.5 b):

"If the claim is found to be incorrect, the arbiter shall add three minutes to the opponent’s remaining thinking time. Then the game shall continue. If the claim was based on an intended move, this move must be made as according to Article 4."

Thus, apparently the chief arbiter made a wrong decision: the game was continued, but the planned move wasn't made.


* * *

Let's imagine what could happen if the move would be made as the regulations put it. Wang Hao would play 69.Kh5 (this is the move he wanted to play and it is even shown in live broadcast - perhaps, by a mistake), after which Dreev could again play 69...Bc7! and at this point there would be no threefold repetition on the board! Then Dreev had only to make a winning move and would he find it or not having three extra minutes will remain unknown. 

[Event "FIDE World Cup 2013"] [Site "Tromso NOR"] [Date "2013.08.14"] [Round "2.1"] [White "Wang, Hao"] [Black "Dreev, Aleksey"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "D52"] [Opening "QGD"] [Variation "Cambridge Springs defence, Yugoslav variation"] [EventDate "2013.08.11"] [Board "12"] 1. d4 d5 2. c4 c6 3. Nf3 Nf6 4. Nc3 e6 5. Bg5 Nbd7 6. e3 Qa5 7. cxd5 Nxd5 8. Rc1 b6 9. Be2 Nxc3 10. bxc3 Ba3 11. Rc2 Ba6 12. O-O Bxe2 13. Qxe2 O-O 14. Rd1 Rfe8 15. e4 e5 16. Bh4 Be7 17. Bg3 Bf6 18. Nd2 b5 19. dxe5 Nxe5 20. f4 Qa4 21. Rcc1 Ng6 22. Qf3 Be7 23. e5 Ba3 24. Rb1 Rad8 25. Nb3 Bf8 26. Nd4 b4 27. cxb4 c5 28. Qb3 Qxb3 29. Nxb3 cxb4 30. Kf1 h5 31. h3 h4 32. Bh2 Ne7 33. Bg1 Nd5 34. Rd4 Nc3 35. Rb2 Ra8 36. Na5 f6 37. exf6 gxf6 38. Bf2 Bc5 39. Rd7 Rac8 40. Bxh4 Re4 41. g3 Bb6 42. Nb3 Re3 43. Kg2 Ne4 44. Nd2 Nc5 45. Rd5 Nd3 46. Rb3 Ne1+ 47. Kf1 Nc2 48. Rd7 Re1+ 49. Kg2 f5 50. g4 Re2+ 51. Kf3 Rce8 52. gxf5 Nd4+ 53. Kg4 Nxb3 54. axb3 Rg2+ 55. Kf3 Rg7 56. Rd3 Rh7 57. Kg4 Re2 58. Nc4 Rg2+ 59. Kf3 Rg1 60. Bg3 Rxh3 61. Kg4 Rh6 62. Kg5 Rh3 63. Kg4 Rh6 64. Kg5 Rc6 65. Kh5 Rh1+ 66. Kg5 Rg1 67. Kh5 Bc7 68. Kg5 Bb6 69. Kh5 1/2-1/2

Information on the tournament


  


Смотрите также...

  • Armenian Arbiter Ashot Vardapetyan explained the incident in the game Wang Hao - Dreev in detail.
    The source

  • The international arbiter Eduard Dubov commented on the situation in Wang Hao - Dreev encounter which took place yesterday at the World Cup (there's also a video available HERE).

  • A lot has been written about the last incident in Wang Hao - Dreev game from Tromso and mainly almost all were wrong. Article 9 of FIDE Handbook surprisingly good and clearly written about the case:

  • Yuri Eliseev, 17-year-old GM from Russia, told how he was registered defeat in the encounter against Daniel Naroditsky at the WYCC in Al ain. It became thetopic of discussion after Anastasia Ziazulkina shared her impressions on the competition. We have published them here

  • Dear Mr. Vardapetyan,

    Thank you very much for your response.

    Only one thing matters here. If not that "Russian website" the chess world wouldn't hear your opinion on the incident. Everything else is lyricism.

  • In a video, published on the official site of the Rapid and Blitz World Championship in Astana, the grandmaster Nikolai Chadaev, talked about the incident, which happened in his game against Vladislav Tkachiev in the qualifying tournament,

  • Wang Hao - Gelfand encounter of Round 9 of Grand Prix Beijing was the longest finishing quite dramatically. The final part of the game was commentated live on Chess-News by GM Dreev. Gelfand missed a win several already in the endgame already  it was already clear that the draw was inevitable. 

    WANG HAO - GELFAND

  • A quick draw was registered in the encounter of the leader Mamedyarov against Wang Hao. Azerbaijani GM again played Caro-Kann defence with Black. In the classical line Wang Hao made a "side" move 5.Nc5.

  • Wesley So's opponent Varuzhan Akobian discussed the scandalous events in a live transmission almost immediately after they happened. You will recall that So was forfeited for taking notes during his game against Akobian.  

  • Ivaschenko - Esipenko encounter in Round 7 of the Dvorkovich Memorial finished in the same way as Pushkov - Severina in Round 3. The time was added prematurely - after 39th move. Vadim Ivaschenko started to think, but the young arbiter Trifonov was by side and registered defeat for white. Ivaschenko disagreed with the decision of the referee, however, the chief arbiter Mikhail Krjukov has calmly explained to Ivaschenko: the clock works properly, 39 moves have been made and more time has been spent then it was possible theoretically.